Home > Uncategorized > The Baseball Movies.

The Baseball Movies.

So I was home today and thought, “why not do ANOTHER ranking”. Haha, just kidding. I was home and DID see The Sandlot on t.v. and thought I should rank MY top baseball movies of all time. I know it has been done a MILLION times, but I thought I would share. Here they are, let the bashing begin.

Just missed the Top 10: Little Big League; Rookie of the Year

10. Eight Men Out (1988): Pretty slow movie, but it is pretty good. It is a sentimental favorite. I remember my parents buying our FIRST VCR in 1989 or so and this was the movie they rented for me to watch. Wait what? (true story). Charlie Sheen is in it too, winning.

9. For Love Of The Game (1999): I have to be honest, this one was a LITTLE sappy for me, but I still enjoyed the story. Billy Chapel was what, 41 and throws a perfect game? Heh. No, still good and somewhat inspiring. Vin Scully is the announcer, you can’t beat that…well maybe you can, John C Reilly is the catcher. Perfect. Haha. This scene is good:

8. The Rookie (2002): There have been some changes made. I apologize. One of my dedicated fans (@tx_rungirl) on twitter pointed out that I had forgotten this movie. Maybe that’s a bad sign? Problem is, I like this movie. I really do. So, instead of including “Baseball” by Ken Burns, I replace it with a true “movie”. Everyone knows the story of The Rookie. A West Texas high school teacher becomes a major leaguer, making his debut at The Ballpark in Arlington in front of his home town crowd. The movie had one error though (probably more), but Jim Morris struck out Royce Clayton with four pitches, not three.

7. The Bad News Bears (1976): Oh Kelly Leak. This movie had sequels and a remake (why oh why), but the first one is still the best. Funny thing is, and some people don’t remember, the Bears did not win the championship. Crazy. Their rival was the Yankees, a definite memory for me growing up. My main rival, the Yankees. “You talking about Kelly Leak?”

6. A League of Their Own (1992): “Hey cow girls, see the grass? Don’t eat it.” Jon Lovitz made this movie, and thats saying something taking into consideration the famous Tom Hanks line “there’s not crying in baseball!” Most of the game scenes were filmed in Indiana at the oldest minor league ballpark in the US. Nice.

5. The Natural (1984): Roy Hobbs. This movie DEF gets a lot use when describing someone who seems to play the game with ease. “The Natural” or “the next Roy Hobbs” is heard a lot. Also, who didn’t want to make their own bat after seeing this movie? I wanted too, but tin foil and tape doesn’t work so well.

4. The Sandlot (1993): Now we are getting to the “it’s personal” section of the countdown. I graduated high school in 1997, so The Sandlot was a big part of my junior high and high school experience. I played baseball, and I got A LOT of comparisons to Benny “The Jet” Rodriguez. (not speed or skill, just looks). I look forward to when my son is a little older and we can enjoy this movie together. From “getting into a pickle” to the “big dog”, this baseball movie is great. “Remember kid, there’s heroes and there’s legends. Heroes get remembered but legends never die, follow your heart kid, and you’ll never go wrong.”

3. Bull Durham (1988): Probably one of the most quotable movies of all time. Once again, Costner was great as a savvy minor league catcher teaching “Nuke” Laloosh how to pitch, and take care of his shower shoes. Even if you don’t like baseball, you probably know some quotes from this movie. “Why does he always call me meat?” “Get a hit Crash…..shut up.” Pure greatness. This movie is probably in the top 3 for most baseball movie fans.

2. Major League (1989): This is tough. My parents would NOT let me watch this movie in its original format. I remember my cousins telling me all about it and thinking it was the greatest thing ever. Well, after waiting a few years, I FINALLY got to watch the t.v. version. Edited. I am pretty sure it was better than the original (which I HAVE seen). Another VERY quotable movie, one in which I can almost do the entire script. Probably the best part or most memorable part is Bob Uecker as the Indians play by play man. “JUSSSSTTT a bit outside…tried the corner and missed”. Hmm, not much on Youtube, but this is a good one.

1. Field of Dreams (1989): There could be a few #1’s here for different reasons, but Field of Dreams just edged out the others. I honestly watch it any time it is on some crappy Encore channel. It is funny, it is touching, it is entertaining and it is memorable. Without a doubt, people who have NEVER seen the movie know one of its most famous lines: “if you build it, he will come”. Churches and schools have been using it since the movie came out to get building campaigns done. It’s true. James Earl Jones also delivers with his famous (one of the best movie speeches ever) “people will come” speech. If you don’t cry (or almost cry) when Ray asks his dad for a catch, you are not human. I am getting choked up just thinking about it. Oh, and Costner is on the list three times…major props to the King of Baseball Movies.

So there you have it, MY top 10 Baseball Movies of All Time. What say you readers?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 28, 2011 at 9:12 am

    To All Filmmakers:

    Why hasn’t someone produced an historical, family type feature film on Joe Louis Reliford, ” the world’s youngest pro baseball player,” who is the only batboy in Cooperstown? Never has any human being dead or alive, play in a pro baseball game as a ” BATBOY”, OTHER THAN JOE RELIFORD. Baseball is considered the greatest past time sport in America. Someone needs to tell his story to the world, to educate, encourage and entertain, millions around this country, etc.

    • Jeff W
      May 28, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Good question. I need to read more about him myself.

  2. unclebuck
    May 29, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Two of my all time favs were: “Angels In The Outfield” and “It Happens Every Spring”. but, you weren’t born when these were made. Light comedy. Oh, yes and “The Babe Ruth Story”….Paul Douglas, Ray Miland, and William Bendix in that order.

    • Jeff W
      May 30, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Haha. I have had a few people ask about Angels in the Outfield, but the Disney version. Haha.

  3. Steve
    May 30, 2011 at 2:58 am

    this is a list that only a twelve could have made

  4. June 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    hey uncle buck, ive been looking to buy “it happens every spring” and am having no luck. would you know where or how i can get a copy. would appreciate it.

    quite a silly film, but it used to start the season.

  5. Joe
    June 4, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    There are so many OUTSTANDING baseball movies made before 1970.

    Has anyone ever heard of Gary Cooper?

  6. Joe
    June 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Musical or not, the songs in Danm Yankees can bring tears to any baseball fan, and Mitzi Gaynor is great eye-candy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

