Home > Uncategorized > NBA Update.

NBA Update.


The playoffs are still happening. I didn’t acknowledge that fact on this here blog, but I have been watching most of the games the whole way through. A couple of things that have caught my my eye:

1. My picks from October are holding true, so far. I picked the Thunder to beat the Heat in the NBA Finals. The Thunder are tied in the conference semi’s with the Grizzlies 1-1, and the Heat have been dominant over the Celtics. It will be interesting to see if the Heat can keep up their winning ways.

2. Speaking of the Heat, I hope they reach the Finals, but I don’t want them to win it. I AM torn though. I was a little turned of by the Decision and the pep rally before the season by this team, but I am also sick of the way they have been scrutinized all season. I want Lebron to win a title, he is one of the best players right now and it would be fair for him to win one. I just don’t want it to happen against the Mavericks or the Thunder.

3. The Thunder. I remember writing a post about their potential team names and thought they should have gone with something else, but now it fits. Kevin Durant is my favorite player in the league, and they seem to have a good young nucleus to build around. When I picked them to win it all, they didn’t have Kendrick Perkins AND didn’t know Serge Ibaka would be the stud that he is. They have a tough road though with the way Memphis is playing.

4. How about the Mavericks? I thought they would beat the Blazers, but would get out played and out Laker’d by the Lakers. It just happens. The Mavs had a different feeling though. They have really out played the Lakers in every way. Kobe isn’t able to will his team to a win, and Dirk is out playing him. If they get by the Lakers, look out, they may be tough to stop the rest of the way. As luck would have it though, they will make the finals against the Heat again, a BETTER Heat team. Hah.

5. Derrick Rose won the MVP. I mean, I think everyone saw this coming. The “Lebron should win because Cleveland now sucks” argument wasn’t strong, but he did make that Heat team go. My vote would have gone to Durant though. I am a homer, but Durant led the league in scoring and has single handedly (ok, kind of) led the Thunder to NBA premiership. But anyway, good job Derrick Rose.

6. The Grizzlies. I don’t even know what to say. They are winning games and knocked off the Spurs. When Zach Randolph isn’t being a complete idiot, he can actually play some ball. They won’t get past the Thunder though. Oh, and I want my daughter (I don’t have one) to marry a guy like Shane Battier. That guy is legit.

7. Blake Griffin won the Rookie of the Year. I called that one too. I guess some people may have not realized he was still a rookie, because in his first rookie year he had a leg missing or something. Not sure what the deal was there.

Well, that is all I have for now regarding the NBA. When the finals start I will do some analysis. Or something.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nathan
    May 7, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I’ve always really liked Lebron, but the way he handled leaving Cleveland left a bad taste in my mouth. I’m not even a Cavs fan. I’d be fine if the heat imploded every year and Wade had to file a restraining order against Lebron.

    • Jeff W
      May 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

      I know what you mean, but I do not blame him for leaving Cleveland.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

