Home > Uncategorized > The NBA Season is here.

The NBA Season is here.


Do you care? I am supposed to be objective when it comes to sports, I am a sports blog writer, but honestly I never get too worked up about the NBA. Maybe it is because it starts during football season, or maybe it is because the Texas Rangers (my baseball team of choice) are in the World Series. I have no idea. I do know that there are some things that MIGHT make me tune in Tuesday night to the opening game.

Like everyone, Lebron James’ “decision” was on my t.v. I have never been a Lebron “fan”, but I wanted to know where is was going to play this year. Why? Well, I am a sports blog writer. But seriously, Lebron is a big deal. He is one of the most recognizable names in sports today. So yes, I will be watching the Heat vs. Celtics tomorrow night. If for nothing else, just to see Lebron and Shaq in their new uniforms. While admittedly I won’t pay much attention to the NBA until the playoffs begin, here are some stories I will keep my eye on during the season:

1. Are the Lakers good enough to 3-peat? The Lakers are still good, sorry rest of you NBA teams. They still have one of the best players ever in Kobe Bryant and bring back their core of Gasol, Bynum and Odom. Additions like Matt Barnes and Derrick Caracter should help out right away. Repeat? Not a chance.

2. Will Kevin Durant win the MVP? If I had to choose a favorite NBA player, it would be Durant. Guy is amazing. If he leads OKC to the playoffs again, AND leads the league in scoring again, he should win it. He went from being a great scorer to an amazing leader in this past summer’s World Championships leading the US to the gold. Watch out for Durant.

3. Will Shaq help or hurt the Celtics? Everyone agrees that Shaq is no longer Superman, but he still has some things he can offer the Celtics. Their goal is the playoffs, if he can keep his legs fresh for the post-season, look for Shaq to get at least 10 minutes a game in the playoffs. So, he will help, just not much.

4. Who will win the Rookie of the Year? Your first thought when you read that was John Wall wasn’t it? Well, he is a good choice, but don’t forget last years #1 pick Blake Griffin. He will make a HUGE difference for that other team in LA.

5. Are the Mavericks any good? Uhh, not compared to the elite teams in the league. Dallas will once again make the playoffs (if Dirk is healthy) but this team is getting older and left behind. I say they make it to the playoffs, but will be knocked out early..again.

6. Who will win it all? I guess the sexy picks would be Miami or L.A., both good choices, but I am going out on a limb. Give me Oklahoma City to win it all, beating Miami in 7 games. Wouldn’t that be epic?

Enjoy the season.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nate
    October 26, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I love your NBA posts, Jeff. Your enthusiasm is contagious. You get me so pumped up for the season.

    So I have a question….you act like you don’t care about the NBA. How then is it that you know that an absolute nobody like Derrick Caracter got drafted by the Lakers? I think you’re a true fan and you’re just afraid to admit it.

    Percy Harvin rules.

    • Jeff W
      October 26, 2010 at 8:20 am

      Hello Nate.

      I follow the NBA, but honestly I don’t really watch until the playoffs. That is just who I am. And yes, I DO know things about teams, just not a huge fan. Thank you for your support.

      Jeff

  1. June 9, 2011 at 9:25 am
  2. June 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

