Home > Uncategorized > Nicknames.

Nicknames.

I have to be honest, I like nicknames. Usually if I have known you for awhile I will come up with an “original” nickname for you. Most people have one that I know, including my lovely wife (Dreiars). I have one that a Spanish teacher gave me in high school (15+ years ago) and there are a handful of people who still call me by the name (Jefe’). I don’t like it, I can’t even say it. Anyway, I am also a big fan of lists…so here is a list of some of my favorite Sports nicknames of all times. Feel free to add your faves.

My Favorites:

1. Dennis “Oil Can” Boyd– Apparently his nickname comes from his beer drinking days in Mississippi. I say this, if you get a nickname from beer drinking, you are doing something right. Definitely one of the best of all time.


2. Rich “El Guapo” Garces– “Would you say I had a plethora of pinatas?” Ok, perhaps I just like the movie (Three Amigos) featuring the Infamous “El Guapo”, but how can you not like Rich Garces? Dude was one of the most out of shape, but fun loving pitchers ever. You can’t help but smile when you saw him on the mound. Career 23-10 guy. Not bad.


3. Adam “Big Donkey” Dunn– I am not really sure what this nickname is about, but I like it. Funny, to the point, vulgar, I don’t really know. When you hear it, you know who it is.


4. Ed “Too Tall” Jones– One of the first sports nicknames I remember. It says it all. This guy is tall, and will probably smash my face in. Trivia question: Do you know the actual listed height of Mr. Jones?….


5. “The Round Mound of Rebound”– Charles Barkley had 2 nicknames, and while “Sir” may be the most favored, “The Round Mound of Rebound” has to be the longest and most colorful. Charles was always a little soft in the midsection, but he was one of the most feared power forwards in history.

Ones That I Think Are Dumb:
1. Kobe “The Black Mamba” Bryant– Wait seriously? Did he just make this up for himself? I have NEVER heard anyone call him this.

2. Harold “Baby Jordan” Minor– Uhh, about the only thing this guy had in common with Jordan was that he was a male and he played basketball, that’s it. Talk about giving a nickname a LITTLE too quickly. This guy actually waited on me at Smashburger the other night.

3. Stephon “Starbury” Marbury– This sounds like a 80’s cartoon with too much pink in it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

