Home > Uncategorized > Welcome.

Welcome.

I have no idea what I am doing. I have always loved sports so I am trying my hand at writing a sports blog. Will anyone read it? Probably not, but it will give me some practice at writing things out. I want to be a sportscaster so I figured that some practice will help me out. So here it goes.

I love baseball. I really do, but since the middle of last week I can’t get my mind off of football. The first college games are 44 days away…44 DAYS AWAY! This season of college football promises to be a great one. Here are a few games that will be definite “must watch” games:

1. Ohio State vs. USC- of course I listed this game. These are 2 of the best college football programs of all time. The winner of this matchup will have the inside track to the BCS title game in January. USC will be breaking in a “new” quarterback but has a lot of firepower in the skill positions. Ohio State has another great team coming back to Columbus. Their offense returns most of their top performers and their defense will once again feature James Laurenitus. This easily COULD have been the national title game, but it won’t happen. My pick: Ohio State

2. Kansas at South Florida- this game intrigues me. Both teams are coming off unexpected seasons in which each team played well above expectations. Both squads return their “heart of the team”, QB’s Todd Reesing (KU) and Matt Grothe (SFla). I think this game will be a shootout. My pick: Kansas

3. SMU at Texas Tech- Ok, this game will probably be a blowout in favor of Tech, but how could this game not peak your interest? June Jones takes over a woeful SMU team that has been one of the worst teams in the nation that everyone considers to be a cupcake. Sound familiar? Jones took over a struggling Hawaii program and lead them to a cinderella season last year, ending the season at the Sugar Bowl. SMU may not turn the corner right away, but at least it will be fun watching them get there. Texas Tech has high hopes for this season, like winning their first Big 12 championship. Get ready for fireworks. My pick: Texas Tech

4. Alabama vs. Clemson- I lived in Alabama not too long ago, so I thought I would show them some love. This should be a great game. Alabama is trying to become a top 5 program again, while Clemson is trying to be more consistent. There are always big expectations at both schools, but none more so than with Nick Saban. Bama had the #1 recruiting class last year and Crimson Tide fans expect that to translate into wins. This will definitely be a hard fought, knock down drag out fight. My pick: Clemson

Are you ready for the season? What games are you looking forward too?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jeff and Andreia
    July 18, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    YOU HAVE TOO MUCH FREE TIME…HEHEHEEH jk

  2. tpurl
    July 31, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Hey I got a kick out of it. Keep it up. I guess that is cheaper than calling everybody. You can just type what you think. If you guys are ever heading this way for something let me know.

    Todd

  3. Beth
    August 9, 2008 at 3:00 am

    I cannot believe in all of your excitement of college football Texas was not mentioned.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

